Abilities: Flying against Area Effect

The RRG Area Effect section states that Area Effect damage: "... is considered to be dealt by a card effect. It is not considered to be dealt by the attacker’s attack, but it is being dealt while the unit with Area Effect is attacking. After the Area Effect ability has resolved, the attack is over." The RRG Flying section states: "When a unit with the Flying keyword is attacked by a unit that does not have the Flying keyword, halve the damage that is dealt before it is assigned." A unit delivering Area Effect damage isn't "attacking" anyone - it's doing a card effect in lieu of attacking someone. Put another way, Area Effect damage is delivered by a card effect instead of dealing damage "by an attack". Flying only protects its unit when it's being attacked (ie being dealt damage "by an attack"). It doesn't protect its unit from card effects, and therefore it doesn't protect it from Area Effect damage. (This ruling has previously been confirmed with the design team.)

Planet: Carnath - Does it reference itself or the planet it's using

Carnath lets you trigger another planet's ability. It is still on that planet in question. So in regards to Atrox Prime it would still be the planets adjacent to Atrox Prime and not to Carnath. Reasoning being that Carnath does not "copy" the other planet's ability and perform it at its own planet. It triggers the ability, which then executes standalone without reference to how it was triggered.

Abilities: Definition of "target" - Communications Relay vs Glorious Intervention

Glorious Intervention: After a unit is assigned damage by an attack, sacrifice a Soldier or Warrior unit at the same planet to prevent all of that damage. Then, deal X damage to the attacker. X is the sacrificed unit's printed ATK value. Comms Relay: When your opponent triggers an ability that targets a unit you control with 1 or more attachments, exhaust this support to cancel its effects. Comms Relay can only cancel an ability that specifically uses the word "target". It's not enough that an ability makes you choose something (ie the everyday use of target), it's got to actually include that word "target". Therefore, no, it couldn't be used to cancel Glorious Intervention. GI should only have dealt back 1 damage btw (the printed ATK value of the sac'd guardsman), not the 4 damage from the original attack which your example may have implied (just in case). If GI's effect is cancelled somehow, then yes, the Guardsman would still be sac'd. To explain that further, the GI ability is broken up into: Triggering Condition: After a unit is assigned damage by an attack, Cost: sacrifice a Soldier or Warrior unit at the same planet to Effect (pre-Then aspect): prevent all of that damage. Effect (post-Then aspect): Then, deal X damage to the attacker. X is the sacrificed unit's printed ATK value. (The pre-then and post-then aspects are one combined effect, but the post-Then aspect can only be executed if the pre-Then aspect successfully resolves in full, which it auto-does here.) All cancel abilities are very careful to only ever cancel an effect within the ability, not the full ability, nor any other part of that ability. That's why the cost within an ability is always paid, even if the ability's effect is cancelled.

Command: When are bonuses collected

RRG Planet Cards section states: "The +1 (cards) and +1 (resources) symbols modify the number of cards or resources that are granted by a planet when the controller of the symbol wins a command struggle there. The card with the symbol must be at the planet when its bonus resolves. Their effects are cumulative, and their modification of the planet bonus is not optional." So it's taken when you win a command struggle at the planet where that unit is. It doesn't matter if the unit is exhausted or not, its bonus is still added to the planet's card/resource command struggle reward (for you only though, not for your opponent if he wins the command struggle there). Note that taking a planet's reward is optional, but if you do choose to take it, you must take all of it, with these cards' bonuses included.

Abilities: Can cost reducer effects reduce a cost to 0

Yes, you can reduce the cost to zero, unless the card was to state otherwise. The faction reducer supports have no such limit.

Abilities: Can I initiate an action if I've passed in this action window

Once you pass, you can do no more actions during the deploy phase. RRG Action Windows section (pg 20) states: "When an action window opens, the player with the initiative has the first opportunity to initiate an action, or pass. Opportunities to initiate actions alternate between the players until both players consecutively pass, at which point the action window closes." There is no restriction that prohibits you from taking an action later on in action window after you've passed - at each opportunity you have the choice of initiating an action or passing. Unless of course both you and your opponent pass in consecutive opportunities, at which point the action window closes.

Keywords: Do they stack, especially Area Effect

RRG Keywords section states: "Cards are considered to have a keyword or to not have that keyword. A single card that has and/or is gaining the same keyword from multiple sources functions as if it has one instance of that keyword. The value pertaining to numerative keywords does accumulate, however. For example: a card with “Area Effect (1)” that is gaining “Area Effect (2)” would function as “Area Effect (3).”

Card: Repulsor Impact Field - Will it deal damage if its unit takes Area Effect damage

No. Repulsor Impact Field (RIF): After attached unit is damaged by an attack, deal 2 damage to the attacker. RRG Area Effect section states: "This damage is considered to be dealt by a card effect. It is not considered to be dealt by the attacker’s attack, but it is being dealt while the unit with Area Effect is attacking." Therefore, the attached unit is not being damaged by an attack which is what RIF requires (ie the dealing damage process that results from applying an ATK value), it's being damaged by a card effect. Therefore RIF can't be initiated.

Card: Stalwart Ogryn - Is it immune to Power From Pain

Yes. Stalwart Ogryn: Immune to enemy events. Power From Pain: Your opponent must sacrifice an army unit, if able. RRG Immune section states: "If a unit is immune to a specified set of effects, it cannot be targeted or affected by effects that belong to that set." The sacrifice is being initiated by an effect and SO can't be affected by an effect. Note that it doesn't matter that the sacrifice is being chosen by the opponent - he's only making that choice because Power From Pain is making him do it, and SO is immune to PFP's resolution. Note: If you control an Ogryn and at least one other unit, you must still resolve the sacrifice with another unit. Ogryn cannot be chosen to "satisfy" the effect to avoid another unit being sacrificed, because being "chosen" would be considered being affected by the effect, which it's immune to. And the effect must resolve with a unit being sacrificed, if able.

Card: Battle Cry - Does it only apply to units at the battle planet

Battle Cry: Each Ork unit you control gets +2 ATK until the end of the battle. Battles are definitely planet specific - the RRG "3. Combat Phase" section talks about how each planet is checked to see whether a battle takes place there, and that it resolves there before moving on to check the next planet. This Battle Cry effect lists no planet-type restrictions though, so therefore all units its in play that you control get the +2 ATK. Typically that's only useful for units at the current battle planet, but if you can manage to bring a unit from another planet/HQ to the battle planet before the battle ends (eg Tellyporta Pad), they'll also have their +2 ATK. Once the battle at this planet ends, the effect ceases. To round out the answer, note that this effect won't be applied to any units that enter play after this event is played. It's what's called a lasting effect and is covered in the RRG Event Cards section, which states: "If an event card creates a lasting effect on the game state, only cards that are in play at the time the event card is played are eligible to be affected. Cards that enter play after the resolution of the event are not affected by its lasting effect."

Command: Is committing considered moving

Yes. RRG page 24 2.4 Commit to Planets Each player moves his warlord and all other units that are currently at his HQ to the planet that corresponds with the number selected on his dial.

(Note: The opposite, retreating, is not considered moving.)

Abilities: Do multiple of the same cost reducer stack

An interrupt / reaction can be triggered once per each time its triggering condition occurs. As such, a cost reducer interrupt (eg Ambush Platform) can be triggered once each time you deploy an attachment However each copy of a specific card is considered to have a different instance of that interrupt/reaction. As such, each instance of a cost reducer interrupt can be triggered each time its triggering condition occurs. As an example, if you have three Ambush Platforms in play, each may trigger to the deployment of a specific attachment, effectively reducing its cost by 3 (noting that a cost can't be reduced below 0 though). Summary: each of them may trigger each time.

Keywords: Ranged - Does it combine with Area Effect

Yep. AoE takes place when you attack. Ranged means you attack in the ranged skirmish. Nothing to prevent you stacking these abilites with the right combos.

Battle: Can I use a combat action event before auto-winning a battle

Yes, as there are still multiple action windows before the Warlord's combat turn comes up and the battle would be won. RRG page 22.

Card: Homing Beacon - Are returning, routing, retreating considered moving

The rules are careful to only use "move" when "move" is meant, and to use other words instead (like "return" or "place") when "move" is not meant. As such, units that are returning to HQ at end of battle, or being routed, or retreating, are not considered to be "moving". This has been confirmed with the design team. Homing Beacon has been designed to work with Aun'shi and its signature squad.

Abilities: Definition of "move"

Entering play (be it put into play or deploy) is not considered a "move" (the rules shouldn't have used that word there ... a slipup, apologies). A better definition might be this: A game element "moves" when: - an ability uses the word "move", or - the rules use the word "move" to describe picking up an element from one in-play location and placing it another in-play location (ie Mobile, commitment). There is no subset of words under move, nor vice versa. A move can only ever be defined by the word "move". As such, words like "place" definitely don't describe a move.

Card: Crushing Blow - Can it deal its damage to a just bloodied warlord

Damage (RRG, p.5): "If a hale warlord has as much (or more) damage on it as it has hit points, it is defeated, and placed in its owner’s headquarters on its Bloodied side, exhausted. All damage tokens from the hale side are removed when a warlord is Bloodied, and excess damage from the warlord’s initial defeat is not applied to the Bloodied side. Any attachments on a warlord remain attached when it is Bloodied. If a Bloodied warlord has as much (or more) damage on it as it has hit points, it is defeated and its owner immediately loses the game." That's a lot of rules text, but what it comes down to is that when enough damage is applied to a warlord to bloody it, the "bloodying" process happens immediately upon taking that final damage, before any Reactions are played - just like destroying a non-warlord unit takes place immediately upon taking that final damage, before any Reactions are played. Effectively, part of resolving an effect that deals damage is bloodying/destroying the unit taking the damage, if appropriate. Since Crushing Blow is a reaction to a previous damage effect, that previous effect must resolve completely before it is played. That includes bloodying the warlord. So the event will be played after the warlord is bloodied, dealing 1 unpreventable damage to the (already) bloodied warlord.

Card: Fetid Haze - Can it be played if there are no army units to take the indirect damage

Text for reference: Combat Action: Remove all damage from a target Nurgle unit you control. Then, have your opponent deal an amount of indirect damage equal to the damage removed among army units he controls at the same planet. ---- You can initiate an event, so long as its effect would have a change in the game state. Therefore, as long as Ku'gath has damage to remove, you can play the event. Any effect mentioned after the word "then" is a secondary effect, and doesn't have to be resolvable for the combat action to be commenced. Its a separate effect to removing the damage from Ku'gath, and notably isn't damage being moved from Ku'gath, its new indirect damage equal to the amount removed. Not being asked, but related, its worth noting the definition of the word "then", on p15 of the RRG. Especially notable is that you have to successfully resolve the parts before "then" to be able to trigger the stuff after "then". This also means that if no effect before the word "then" would change the game state, you can't play the event, even if the stuff after the word "then" would do so. Also, not being asked, but of rules interest is the way Indirect Damage is assigned (p8 RRG). Interestingly if you remove 6 damage from Ku'gath, but your opponent only has one 1HP army unit at the planet, they'd only have to assign 1 indirect damage to that unit, and the rest would be ignored. This is pertinent when it comes to shielding, so be wary about expectations when playing Fetid Haze.

Card: Captain Markis - Can he sacrifice himself to get the effect

Yes, you can. Anything before "to" is the cost paid to trigger, so you can select Markis to pay that cost. Once the action is initiated and the cost is paid, it runs through to resolution even if the card with the action on it is now gone. If this seems counterintuitive, it might be easier to look at a card like Zarathur's Flamers. Clearly with that card, the flamers aren't in play at the time the effect resolves. Same is true with Markis choosing himself for the cost.

Card: Zogwort's Runtherders - Does a multiple damage effect kill the generated snotling

The RRG Dealing Damage process helps cover this: "If a single source attempts to damage multiple units, all damage is assigned simultaneously. The player with the initiative has the first opportunity to use a shield, with shield opportunities alternating back and forth between players until both pass. All damage is then placed on the units simultaneously." ZR's ability interrupts the last of these steps, the placement of damage on the units for which damage is still assigned. If a snotlings token enters play just before this placement occurs (per ZR's ability), it is not affected by the resolution of this "placement of damage" step, the reason being that it's not been assigned any damage by this 3 step "dealing damage" process and therefore there's no damage to be taken by it.

Created with Mozello - the world's easiest to use website builder.

 .